Mobile Foxtel versus YouTube & App Portals

At the end of April I took out a $4 day pass on Telstra’s Mobile Foxtel in Australia to catch the Royal Wedding on my iPhone4 as I was to be out that Friday Night.

I also downloaded the KingsQueens App for about the same money as they had good background info including a book (access each chapter via wi-fi to cache it) and video clips. They also streamed the Wedding live (and I hoped in higher definition than mobile Foxtel would). It turns out that Foxtel came through clear as a bell.

I also accessed & subscribed to TheRoyalChannel on YouTube via mobile Safari (not the youtube app!) and bookmarked it on my iphone desktop.

The last two came out of my mobile data quota – I could monitor my usage in settings (against my monthly quota and turnover date each month) so as to not go over.  On my Mobile it chews through about 3MB per minute. I have 1GB (i.e. 1000MB) allowance ($5) per month and (unless using Google Maps on holidays or overseas) seem to need only 35 MB per month for SMS and checking my apps like the Oz Weather or AP Mobile. Incidentally, be very wary of using Google Maps when overseas unless you first get temporary SIM card there – otherwise it can cost you big dollars.

It was not easy to get to the mobile Foxtel day pass option. I had to temporarily turn of Wi-Fi and get outside for a good connection and then not take the standard subscriptions. I think I selected BBC News Preview for a moment then hit back and found the day pass subscription offer.

Be aware that the T&C’s warn you may be cut off any one channel after 30 minutes use (or after 200 min in a month if not on a day pass). The programs seem to be finite recordings like a newscast you download – not realtime streams? Perhaps you give it a minute to start streaming then watch it in slightly delayed realtime to avoid jerkiness as it spools the program to your device?

Once had it set up, I selected the Subscriptions tab to see my day pass then clicked the Mobile Guide tab, BBC World News then (after 6pm) selected The Royal Wedding program. Their blurb stated 250 min with full uninterrupted coverage! Presumably the 30 min cutoff did not apply to this or people could switch to other news channels that covered it. I did not keep watching anyway but it was interesting to experiment with the multiple modes of access and I was rather impressed with the quality of the experience.

About adelaidepete

Now live in Adelaide South Australia and have always worked in Systems & Software Engineering. I am enjoying commenting on, suggesting and discussing innovative solutions to problems and useful risk mitigation strategies and recently interested in the realm of public policy re urban planning & disasters - the focus of this blog. I am interested in technology, gadgetry, enhancing productivity & functionality, urban planning, military thinking and public policy. I enjoyed periods I spent in USA (Reston, Virginia Beach & Dallas) & Europe (Germany, Spain, Italy & Greece) but genuinely love Australia, most people, animals, singing, dancing & life.
This entry was posted in Gadgets, iPhone and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

